Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Cake

May 2014 update;  Baked this cake tonight.  I popped over at the Martin’s this morning and Martin2 mentioned coffee cake.  That got me thinking about how much I love coffee cake.  Had to make it for tomorrow morning to enjoy with a nice, strong cup of coffee!!  Martin requested glaze so I topped it with that this time around.  I couldn’t wait for tomorrow so I tried a piece tonight.  This was simple and incredible DELICIOUS!

I bought a bundt cake pan earlier this month.  I am going to try a different bundt cake each month.  I baked Martin his Chocolate Bundt Cake for his birthday.  I wanted to try a coffee cake to see how it would turn out.  Eric, Rachel, Kent, Kyle and I each had a piece (or two, or three) and really enjoyed it.  Here is the recipe:

Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Cake

May 2014 003With orMay 2014 002Without Glaze.  It is delicious either way!!

Ingredients

Streusel Topping:

1 cup flour
1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1 Tablespoon Cinnamon
1/2 cup COLD butter, cut into chunks
1 cup chopped nuts (optional and I did not use)

Cake:

2/3 cup softened butter
2 cups sugar
2/3 cup sour cream
4 eggs
1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon baking soda

Glaze

1 1/2 cup confectioners sugar
1-2 Tablespoons milk
Whisk above ingredients together.  It is that simple!

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  For the streusel topping, mix flour, brown sugar and cinnamon in medium bowl.  Cut in cold butter with pastry blender or 2 knives until coarse crumbs.  (I used my food processor for this step and it worked great.)

2.  For the Cake, beat softened butter, granulated sugar and sour cream in stand up mixer at medium speed until light and fluffy.  Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.  Mix in vanilla. Gradually beat in flour, cinnamon and baking soda on low speed until well blended. ( You could also use an electric mixer or beat by hand.)

3.  Spoon 1/2 of the streusel topping into greased and floured 12 cup bundt pan.  Spoon 1/2 of the batter over top.  Repeat layers ending with streusel on top.

4.  Bake 1 hour or until toothpick comes out clean.  Cool in pan for 10 minutes.  Removed from pan.  You can sprinkle confectioner’s sugar on top or a vanilla glaze.  (If you use glaze, drizzle over top of cake.)

When I first made this cake in January 2012 I checked with Eric and Rachel to see if I should add a glaze or sugar on top.  We agreed to leave it just as it came out of the oven.  They both loved this cake and will definitely be happy to see I have made it again when they come over tomorrow for dinner.

This bundt cake really was Simple and very Delicious!

 

6 thoughts on “Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Cake

  1. Wow, does that look good! It sounds delicious too. I have yet to try a bundt cake. Guess I better get a pan, because I need to try one. This one looks beautiful. Great job!

  2. I am ALL over this! Gonna give it a shot this weekend, Superbowl or no Superbowl. Tracy @ shutterbean’s Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt will just have to wait until next time!

    • WordPress is a great place for your blog. It really is easy to start. Think of a name for your blog and yourself. Start with WordPress. You don’t need pictures to start. WordPress has everything you need, tutorials and all. It is really easy and smooth sailing. Eric helps me a little but only when I really can’t figure something out. If I can do a blog you sure can. So, my “start up” advice…GET STARTED! 🙂

Leave a Reply

