Pasta Primavera – Simple and Delicious

It is almost Summer.  That means veggies!  I wanted to make a nice and easy meal this Sunday with veggies.  No meat I said to myself.  I told the crew I was going to avoid a meat dish this Sunday.  We will have Pasta Primavera, Israeli Salad and rolls – from Costco, I guess I was a little lazy! 🙂  Well, I did make what I wanted but I also grilled some chicken.  Eric loves chicken. I offered chicken and he accepted.  So much for no meat.  I marinated the chicken using some of the mint that I am growing.   I checked a few different recipes for the Pasta Primavera.  I ended up doing my own thing and it turned out quite delicious.  Here goes;

 

Pasta Primavera

June 1 2014 048

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups broccoli florets, cut into bite sized pieces – As you can tell from the photos my veggies were cut a bit large.  Eric did suggest next time making pieces smaller. Thus, bite sized pieces! He loved it thought!! 🙂
6-8 asparagus spears (depends on the size.  I had some thin ones and used 8), sliced into 1 inch pieces
1 red pepper, thinly sliced
1 medium onion, diced
2-3 carrots, sliced into 1/2 inch pieces
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 cup chicken (or veggie) broth
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup half and half
1 cup grated Parmesan
1 Tablespoon basil, chopped (fresh from my herb garden)
Olive Oil
Butter
Salt and Pepper
1 pound pasta.  I used Rigatoni.  Next time I will use a shell or large elbows.  You can use whatever you want.  (get that pot of water boiling for your pasta.  Don’t forget to add salt to the water.  I add 1 Tablespoon to 8 cups water)

Directions

1.  I ended up roasting the broccoli, asparagus and red pepper.  Preheat oven to 425.  Put the cut up veggies in a bowl, add 1-2 Tablespoons of olive oil, salt and pepper.  Mix together.  Put in oven for 10-15 minutes.  You want them firm not mushy.  10 minutes was my limit.June 1 2014 040
2.  If you haven’t done so, get the water boiling for the pasta.  Cook pasta while you are preparing veggies and cream sauce.
3.  Add 2 Tablespoons olive oil and melt 1 Tablespoon of butter to a frying pan. ( I used my stainless steel frying pan.)
4.  Add the onions to the olive oil and melted butter.  Cook until translucent, about 5 minutes.  Add the carrots and cook about 5-8 minutes. Throw in garlic last couple of minutes.June 1 2014 041
5.  When onions, garlic and carrots are done set aside in a bowl or plate.
6.  To the same frying pan add 1 cup of chicken broth and 1 Tablespoon butter.  Heat through until butter melted.
7.  Add 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup half and half to chicken broth mix.  Stir together.  Add 1 cup Parmesan cheese.  Stir until heated through.  The sauce thickens as it is heated through.  About 5 minutes. Just before you add the veggies to the cream sauce, add 1 Tablespoon basil. Mix together.June 1 2014 042
8.  Add all veggies to the cream sauce and mix together.
9.  Add above to the pasta.  Mix together and serve!June 1 2014 043

We all loved this dish.  Martin2 and Rachel were working but I sent them a care package.  They both text to let me know this was delicious.  I will definitely make this again soon.  The farmers market will inspire me to use some different veggie combos next time. It did take some time, but I love my kitchen time!  I say cut your veggies and grate your parmesan the night before.  That way you will be good to go the next night to make this simple and delicious meal.  Served with Israeli salad, marinated chicken for those who wanted it, our favorite Costco rolls and for dessert – cheesecake!  Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

