Braised Short Rib Pizza

I don’t know why I thought about short ribs the other night.  I have never had them and they just popped into my head.  I thought it would be a tasty protein to put on a pizza. 😉  I remembered hearing about braised short ribs and thought I would check for some recipe ideas online.  As always, found the recipe I thought would work the best on America’s Test Kitchen (ATK). ( I changed this recipe up enough that I am posting what I did. Hope you don’t mind!)   The ribs were moist and very flavorful.

Since I didn’t really know what to do with the short ribs for a  pizza I asked the crew.  They suggested barbecue sauce, lots of red onions, red pepper, green pepper and fresh mushrooms (all sliced thin), with mozzarella cheese.  It was DELICIOUS!!

Braised Short Ribs

July 4th 004serve with mashed potatoes and veggie/salad ORJuly 4 012on pizza!!

INGREDIENTS

3 1/2 pounds boneless short ribs, trimmed of excess fat
salt and pepper (I seasoned with my special seasoning)  🙂
2 Tablespoons vegetable oil
2 large onions, peeled and sliced thin
1 Tablespoon tomato paste
5 medium garlic cloves, chopped
2 cups beef stock (ATK used red wine)
1 cup beef stock
4 large carrots, peeled and cut into 2-inch pieces
4 sprigs fresh thyme

DIRECTIONS

1. Adjust oven rack to lower-middle position and heat oven to 300 degrees. Pat beef dry with paper towels and season with 2 teaspoons salt and 1 teaspoon pepper. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in large heavy-bottomed Dutch oven over medium-high heat until smoking.  Add half of beef and cook, without moving, until well browned, 4 to 6 minutes. Turn beef and continue to cook on second side until well browned, 4 to 6 minutes longer, reducing heat if fat begins to smoke. Transfer beef to medium bowl. Repeat with remaining tablespoon oil and meat.

2. Reduce heat to medium, add onions, and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened and beginning to brown, 12 to 15 minutes. (If onions begin to darken too quickly, add 1 to 2 tablespoons stock to pan.) Add tomato paste and cook, stirring constantly, until it browns on sides and bottom of pan, about 2 minutes. Add garlic and cook until aromatic, about 30 seconds. Increase heat to medium-high, add beef stock and simmer, scraping bottom of pan with wooden spoon to loosen browned bits, until reduced by half, 8 to 10 minutes. Add broth, carrots, and thyme. Add beef and any accumulated juices to pot; cover and bring to simmer. Transfer pot to oven and cook 2 to 3 hours. (I did 3 hours. I ended up running errands while the ribs were baking.  Took a little longer that expected.  That was a good thing!)  Serve!!

You could make a gravy with the sauce (or not) and serve with mashed potatoes and salad or veggie.  The sauce was absolutely delicious. YUM!   I used 2 ribs for my pizza. We are enjoying the leftovers.  Kent had a sandwich and I had mine warmed up with the sauce and a salad.  Next time I will make for a delicious Sunday meal.  This really is a simple and delicious meal.  Enjoy it!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

