Short Ribs

For our Sunday dinner this week we decided on Short ribs with a rub and then barbecued, mac and cheese, corn bread, coleslaw and peach cobbler.  I was concerned this wouldn’t work with my crew. Well, it worked just fine. Everyone liked it.  The corn bread was a little dry and I will have to work on that.  The cole slaw was good, but forgotten, apparently not good enough.  However, the ribs, mac and cheese and peach cobbler were a hit.  Here is the scoop;

Short Ribs

August 2014 021

Rub for Short Ribs

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup paprika
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons cayenne pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon Chipotle Powder (I added this one.  If you don’t have, no problem)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 5 pounds (2- to 2-1/2-inch-thick) flanken-cut beef short ribs

Place all ingredients in a medium bowl and combine together.  Using a 13×9 inch baking dish, place ribs in dish.  Cover the ribs with the rub.  Put in 350 degree oven immediately or place in refrigerator in the covered baking dish up to 24 hours.  I covered the dish with aluminum foil and put in fridge for 4 hours.  I took out of fridge after 4 hours and let get to room temperature for 30 minutes.  Put in 350 oven for 3 hours.

After I baked for 3 hours I set to cool.  Started the grill. Grilled with Sweet Baby Ray’s barbecue sauce.  5 minutes each side.  You can make your own barbecue sauce.  I decided not to do that. Sometimes you need to know when to say no!

I thought this would be a bomb.  Short ribs are very fatty.  Don’t let that deter you!  Martin2 said I needed to put these in my recipe rotation.  All agreed, these ribs were a hit.  The ones you least expect work out.  I like that!!  This was a great Sunday.  Here are some of those happy faces! August 2014 036Kent and I  August 2014 011 Eric and Rachel August 2014 015  Lily and PaigeAugust 2014 031Martin and MartinAugust 2014 012Rooney, well maybe we aren’t all happy.  He kind of looks like the grumpy cat .Yeah, we will call him grumpy dog!

Leave a Reply

