Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins with Streusel Topping – Simple and Delicious!!

It is that time of year.  Pumpkin and apple time.  I usually make apple bread, apple crisp, apple pie (I try), apple pizza – you name it and I bet I’ve done it.  This year I am going to try a couple of different pumpkin recipes.  Martin2 happens to really enjoy anything pumpkin.  Pumpkin pie, pancakes, bread, cheesecake (next time Martin) – well, anything pumpkin.  I thought I would start safe and try a muffin with a cream cheese filling.  They taste great but I always seem to lack success in the “filling” part of the recipe.  I just finished baking them so Martin will try them tomorrow.   I found the recipe here and made a couple of adjustments.

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins with Streusel Topping

october 010

Ingredients

Filling

1 – 8 ounce package of cream cheese, softened
1 egg
3 Tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Streusel Topping

4 1/2 Tablespoons Flour
3 Tablespoons butter (I used 4)
5 Tablespoons sugar (I used 2 1/2 Tablespoons sugar, 2 1/2 Tablespoons brown sugar)
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon (I used 1 teaspoon of a pumpkin spice mix that I made.  I combined –  1 Tablespoon cinnamon, 1 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/2 teaspoon ginger and 1/2 teaspoon allspice = Pumpkin Spice Mix)
3 Tablespoons pecans (I did not use nuts)

Muffix Mix

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons cinnamon (I used 2 heaping teaspoons of the pumpkin spice mix)
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1/3 cup olive oil (I used canola oil)
1 1/3 cup canned pumpkin
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions

october 008

1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease and flour 18 muffin cups, or use paper liners. (I used paper liners)
2.  To make the filling: In a medium bowl, beat cream cheese until soft. Add egg, vanilla and brown sugar. Beat until smooth, then set aside. (I tried mixing by hand but it did not work well.  I ended up mixing in my stand up mixer.  I did not like the thin texture of this filling.  I was going to make a different recipe that I have used in the past.  I decided to go by this recipe since it was the first time I made them)
3.  For the streusel topping: In a medium bowl, mix flour, sugar, cinnamon and pecans. Add butter and cut it in with a fork until crumbly. Set aside.(I put all ingredients in my food processor and pulsed until crumbly)
4.  For the muffin batter: In a large bowl, sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Make a well in the center of flour mixture and add eggs, pumpkin, olive oil and vanilla. Beat together until smooth. (I used my stand up mixer.  I used medium speed for 2-3 minutes.)
5.  Place pumpkin mixture in muffin cups about 1/2 full. Then add one tablespoon of the cream cheese mixture right in the middle of the batter. Try to keep cream cheese from touching the paper cup. Sprinkle on the streusel topping.  (I put 1 Tablespoon of muffin mix in each cup, then put 1 Tablespoon of cream cheese mixture on top of that, then filled with muffin mix, topped with streusel topping)
6.  Bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes.

I normally do not like pumpkin.  I had to try one to see if it was a success or not.  The muffin was delicious, moist with a slightly spicy flavor.  The one that I took had the filling but it sunk to the bottom of the muffin. We will have to see how the other muffins look.  I also am looking forward to Martin’s opinion.  Believe me, he will let me know!  😉

 

Leave a Reply

