Black and White Cookies

Thought I would repost these rich cake cookies.  I baked them today for Martin II.  He really enjoys most anything I bake.  I thought I would give these a shot to see what he thinks.  I really don’t think I can top his birthday cake but I keep trying!  😉

Call them Half Moon (as our family called them) or Black and White Cookies.  My brother Scott does not even want to embrace Black and White cookie.  All they are to him are Half Moon cookies.  Whatever you may call them, they are a cake cookie with vanilla frosting on one side and chocolate frosting on the other.  When I was younger and lived in Syracuse NY we would get these at the local bakery or grocery store.  I haven’t seen them in our local grocery store in Green Bay so I thought I would whip some up.   Give it a shot and see what you think!

Black and White Cookies (variation of recipe found on Epicurious)
(makes about 6-8 cookies)

Memorial Monday 052713 005

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup well shaken buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/3 cup butter, softened|
1/2 cup sugar
1 large egg

Make cookies;

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees
2.  Whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.  Stir together buttermilk and vanilla in a cup.
3.  Beat together butter and sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes, then add egg, beating until combined well.  Mix in flour mixture and buttermilk mixture alternately in batches at low speed (Scraping down side of bowl occasionally), beginning and ending with flour mixture.  Mix until smooth.
4.  Spoon 1/4 cup of batter about 2 inches apart onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. (If you do not use parchment paper you should spray with Pam or butter the baking sheet).  Bake in middle of oven until tops are puffed and pale golden, and cookies spring back when touched, 15-17 minutes.  (I started checking them after 10 minutes). Transfer to a rack and allow to cool.

For Vanilla Icing (I made the icing while the cookies were baking.  You may want to double the recipe.  I made 2 batches of frosting and that worked for me.)

1 1/3 cup confectioners sugar
3 Tablespoons softened butter
2-3 Tablespoons half and half
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

I used my mixer to blend the above.  For the chocolate frosting add 2-3 Tablespoons of cocoa (depends on how chocolatey you want the frosting).

I had the cookies cool about 15 minutes.  After that I frosted one half with vanilla and the other half with chocolate frosting.   Simple and Delicious – that’s for sure!

Memorial Monday 052713 003 Memorial Monday 052713 004

One thought on “Black and White Cookies

Leave a Reply

