Italian Lemon Cookies

If you are Italian (or maybe not) I am sure you remember those yummy, round, lemony cookies with lemony icing and often with sprinkles on the cookie tray.  That cookie tray was always mounded with all kinds of cookies.  I would always grab those lemon cookies!  It was only at Christmas time.  I used to LOVE those cookies and still do.  Here is the recipe I use.

Italian Lemon Cookies

december 033

Ingredients

1/2 cup shortening
1 cup sugar
1 egg
3 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon lemon extract
1/2 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Directions

  1. Preheat over to 350 degrees.
  2. Cream together shortening and sugar, cream in eggs.  Dissolve baking soda in milk and mix all ingredients together.  You can chill this dough.  I do not chill the dough.
  3. I use a Tablespoon and roll the cookie dough into a 1″ diameter ball.  I place on parchment lined cookie sheet.  You could just place on a non stick cookie sheet, no need to grease the sheet.
  4. I place the racks in middle of oven.  Bake for 9-11 minutes, until bottom is a light golden brown.
  5. When cooled frost with lemon frosting or glaze.  I do a glaze. You just dip the tops of cookies in the glaze and set aside to set.   You can add food coloring to make festive for the holidays.

Frosting

Ingredients

1 1/3 cup powdered sugar
2-3 Tablespoons butter
2-3 Tablespoons half and half
1 teaspoon lemon extract

In my stand up mixer I blend together the powdered sugar and butter, add half and half (or milk) and extract.  Depending on consistency you desire will depend on how much half and half you add.  Sometimes I like a frosting, sometimes more of a glaze.   Either way, these cookies are Simple and Delicous.  HO HO HO!!

 

One thought on “Italian Lemon Cookies

  1. Yesssss! Love those delicious little lemon Dolci baci.

    Lemon has always been at the top of my flavor list (along with chocolate, of course and almond and peppermint and coffee and chai and cinnamon and….. well you get it).

Leave a Reply

