Triple Brownie Bar Cookies

I forgot about this one.  I think this would be a great treat for Super Bowl Sunday.  I guess I am making Dawneo’s for Friday!!  I first made these last February 2014.  Guess I will make again this February!!

I checked with Eric to see if there was any different cookie/dessert he wanted me to bake this weekend.  I really love to bake and am getting bored making the same things over and over.  I really want to try some different recipes.  He found a recipe for brownie bars that I thought would be fun to make.  I have a Faux Oreo recipe that I love to make.  Kent calls them my Dawneo cookies.  🙂  I made my Dawneo cookies in the morning and the brownie bars in the afternoon.  You could also make your life easy and buy a package of Oreos at the store.  Here is a simple and very delicious treat I am sure every person in your life will love!!

Triple Brownie Bar Cookies

02092014 030

 

Ingredients

For the brownie layer02092014 014

10 Tablespoons unsalted butter
1 1/4 cup white sugar
3/4 cup cocoa
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1/2 cup all purpose flour

For the Oreo layer; buy one package of Oreos or bake the ones I made.  They are awesome and freeze great too!

For the Cookie Dough layer02092014 016

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate chips)

Directions (Preheat oven to 350 degrees)

1.  Brownie layer;  In a medium sauce pan, melt the butter over medium high heat.  Once melted, remove from heat and add sugar and cocoa, whisk together.  Add salt, vanilla and eggs.  Whisk until eggs are combined with mix.  Add flour and mix well.  Set batter aside.

2.  Cookie Dough layer;  Cream together the butter and sugars in mixer.  Add the eggs and vanilla, make sure to scrape down side of bowl.  Add dry ingredients until mixed together.  Mix in chocolate chips.

3.  Line bottom of 9×9 baking pan/dish with parchment paper.02092014 020

02092014 018

4.  Assemble as follows;  Layer the cookie dough on bottom of pan.  Single layer as many Oreos that will fit on top of the cookie dough. 02092014 021 It is not necessary to overlap.  Pour the brownie mixture over top of Oreos and spread evenly.02092014 024
5.  Bake 30-35 minutes.  (I baked 40-45 minutes)  I checked by using a toothpick.

These are delicious!!  Eric wanted to take all of it home.  I explained I needed to keep some here for us and the Martin’s.  He conceded reluctantly!  He just stole more Dawneos. 02092014 026 I am just happy he enjoys them so much.  Gets them out of my reach that is for sure!!  😉

Leave a Reply

