Shrimp and Grits Casserole

Kent found another shrimp recipe he wanted me to try in “Cook Illustrated Skillet Dinners” magazine.  I made it this evening. Personally, I do not like shrimp so I did not try this one.  I know I should but I couldn’t.  Kent really enjoyed it and wants me to make this dish more often. Rachel popped over with Franny.  She also thought it was delicious and really enjoyed the grits too.  This was a very simple and delicious meal to make in under 60 minutes.  Here goes;

Shrimp and Grits Casserole

January 020

Ingredients

January 012

2 Tablespoons butter
1 onion, chopped fine
1 teaspoon salt
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon minced canned chipotle chile in adobo sauce
3 1/2 cups water
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 cup old fashioned grits (NOT quick) I used Bob’s Red Mill Corn Grits.  After running around town I finally found them at Festival Foods.
6 ounces extra sharp cheddar cheese, shredded (1 1/2 cups)
3 large eggs, lightly beaten
4 scallions, sliced thin
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 1/2 pounds extra large shrimp (I used 20), peeled, deveined and tails removed (I bought peeled and deveined.  Kent told me it was okay to leave on the tails.  Against my better judgement I did not remove the tails.  Guess what, he said “next time remove the tails!”  Moral to the story, go with your gut!! 🙂

Directions

1.  Adjust oven rack to middle position and preheat oven to 450 degrees.
2.  Melt butter in 12 inch oven safe skillet over medium heat.  Add onion and salt and cook until softened, about 5-7 minutes.  Stir in garlic and chipotle and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
3.  Stir in water and cream, increase heat to medium high, and bring to boil.  Slowly whisk in grits until grits are thick and creamy, about 15 minutes.January 016
4.  Off heat, whisk in cheese, eggs, scallions and pepper.  Arrange shrimp in pinwheel formation over grits, press lightly to submerge about half way.  January 017Transfer skillet to oven and bake until top is browned, grits are hot and shrimp are cooked through, about 15-20 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool 10 minutes before serving.

Didn’t I tell you that was easy?  Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

