Chocolate Fudge Cake

Eric requested a Chocolate Fudge Cake for his birthday.  I thought about this for a few days.  I wanted to combine brownies and chocolate cake.  I made my favorite Chocolaty Brownie and Chocolate Cake recipes.  I wasn’t sure how I wanted to combine the batters.  I was thinking I could swirl the two of them together.  I called Kent in the kitchen for his engineering mind advice. 🙂  He suggested I put the brownie batter on the bottom (being that is the heaviest batter) and the chocolate cake batter on top.  I took his advise and ran with it.  Here is what I did;

Chocolate Fudge Cake

march 031

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Made the Very Chocolaty Brownies and Chocolate Cake recipes posted on my blog.

Sprayed and floured a 9×13 baking pan

Spread out the Brownie batter on bottom of pan.  Topped with Chocolate Cake batter. Baked for 50 minutes.

Let the cake rest for 10 minutes while I made the Chocolate Ganache

Poked holes in the cake March 007 and spread the chocolate ganache over top of cake.  Allow cake to cool completely.  Frost with:

Buttermilk Chocolate Frosting

2 2/3 cup confectioners sugar
2 Tablespoons softened butter
3-4 Tablespoons buttermilk (no buttermilk?  Use 3-4 Tablespoons of softened butter and 2-3 Tablespoons milk)
2-3 Tablespoons cocoa (depends on how chocolaty you want the frosting)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

I use my stand up mixer to blend together.

Frost and serve. March 022 Eric brought some home with him.  When he came over for Sunday dinner he said the cake tastes even better if you put in the refrigerator.  So, I tried that and he was right, as usual 😉

This cake was awesome!  We all loved it.  Well, except Kent – he thinks we overkill on the chocolate.  What does he know! 😉

This may not be simple but it sure was delicious.  Happy Birthday Eric! March 019 Love you very much!!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Fudge Cake

Leave a Reply

