Corned Beef Hash

I wrote this post one year ago, 2014.  I don’t want to remove what I wrote a year ago because my blog is for my family and our memories.  However, I made hash today and it is as good today as last year.  You have to make this.  Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!

03/17/2014;  Martin2 and I went out to breakfast Saturday.  We went to The Mustard Seed Cafe.  They have great food there!  They had homemade corned beef hash on their menu and I decided to order it.  I had Martin taste it to see what he would think.  He thought it was delish!  He is quite the foodie and gives me his honest opinion about whatever he tries that I make.  I decided I would make corned beef hash for Sunday breakfast.  Kent has always enjoyed homemade hash.  Why not? St. Patrick’s weekend.  I knew Eric and Martin2 would enjoy some also.  I also wanted to see if my hash would turn out as delicious as The Mustard Seed.  Eric wants me to make more so he can bring some home.  Oh, and Martin2 thought it was “amazing”.

Corned Beef Hash
(America’s Test Kitchen – where else?!)

March 013

2 pounds russet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch dice (I used red potatoes, that was all I had)
Table Salt
4 slices bacon, chopped fine
1 medium onion, chopped fine
2 medium cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon minced fresh thyme leaves (I used 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme)
1 pound corned beef, cut into 1/4 inch dice (I use the point vs flat cut for the corned beef.  Reason; point cut has more fat therefore more flavor 😉 end of story)
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/4 teaspoon Tabasco sauce
4 large eggs
Ground black pepper

Directions

March 14 2014 003

1.  Bring potatoes, 5 cups water and 1/2 teaspoon salt to boil in medium saucepan over medium high heat.  Once boiling, cook potatoes for 4 minutes, then drain and set potatoes aside.
2.   Cook bacon in 12-inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat for 2 minutes. Add onion and cook until browned, about 8 minutes. March 14 2014 005
3.  Add garlic and thyme and cook for 30 seconds.
4.  Stir in corned beef. Mix in potatoes and lightly pack mixture with spatula. Reduce heat to medium and pour heavy cream and Tabasco sauce evenly over hash. Cook undisturbed for 4 minutes, then, with spatula, invert hash, one portion at a time, and fold browned bits back into hash. Lightly pack hash into pan. Repeat process every minute or two until potatoes are cooked, about 8 minutes longer.
5.  Make 4 indentations (I only did 2 as I used the rest of the hash to have for left overs and share with Eric and Martin2).  Crack one egg in each indentaion, sprinkle with salt and ground pepper.  Reduce heat to medium low, cover pan and cook until eggs are set, about 6 minutes.

Kent loved this recipe and is looking forward to this coming weekend. March 015 There was nothing he would want me to change. Glad I bought an extra point cut brisket to make more hash!!  Eric will be able to bring some home and maybe Martin2 will want some more too.  AND, this was SIMPLE and DELICIOUS!

2 thoughts on “Corned Beef Hash

Leave a Reply

