Molten Chocolate Cakes – Oh so Simple and Delicious

Martin2 has a March birthday.  He requested a lava cake for his birthday.  (I found this recipe on Food and Wine website.) He and Martin were in New Orleans on his special day.  Then, when they returned I was sick. Can’t bake when I am not healthy.  I promised him I would take on the challenge and bake these cakes.  I decided to try a test run on this cake tonight before I actually baked it for him.  Wanted to be sure I didn’t bomb. 😉 This is the easiest cake I have ever made.  (Well, maybe the flourless cake was the easiest.)

A nice accompaniment with this chocolaty dessert would be fresh whipped cream, vanilla ice cream or some berries. I was just making sure I could pull this off so I just ate the cake.  It was delish.  Any time Martin2 is ready for chocolate and coffee I will bake it again.  Here is the recipe;

Molten Chocolate Cakes

april 024

Ingredients

april 009

1 stick of butter (4 ounces)
6 ounces bittersweet chocolate (I think you could use any chocolate you want.  Variety is the spice of life!)
2 eggs
2 egg yolks
1/4 cup sugar
2 Tablespoons flour
pinch of salt

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Butter and lightly flour four 6 ounce ramekins.  Tap out excess flour.  Set the ramekins on a baking sheet.  (I did one ramekin with butter/flour and another with butter/cocoa.  Next time I will use butter/cocoa. Just my personal preference.)
2.  In a double boiler, over simmering water, melt the butter with the chocolate. april 010
3.  In a medium bowl, beat the eggs with the egg yolks, sugar and salt at high speed until thickened and pale.  (I used my electric mixer with the whisk attachment on high speed.  It took 2-3 minutes on high speed. april 013The mix was bubbly and thicker.)
4.  Whisk the chocolate until smooth. april 015
5.  Quickly fold it into the egg mixture along with the flour. (I added the flour to the chocolate before adding to egg mixture).
6.  Spoon the batter into the prepared ramekins april 019and bake for 12 minutes, or until the sides of the cakes are firm but the centers soft. (Next time 10 minutes)
7.  Let the cakes cool in the ramekins for 1 minute, april 020 then cover each with an inverted dessert plate.  Carefully turn each one over, let stand for 10 seconds and then unmold.  april 021Serve immediately.

The 6 ounce serving is perfect.  Not too much, not too little.  It was just right!  Enjoy!!april 025

**The batter can be refrigerated for several hours; bring to room temperature before baking.**

One thought on “Molten Chocolate Cakes – Oh so Simple and Delicious

Leave a Reply

