Crunchy Cabbage Salad

I found this recipe a while ago and have been waiting for the right time to make it.   I have been taking this Medicare course online for an embarrassingly long time.  I started to work on it his morning.  I have to get it done!  I looked over on my table next to my laptop and saw this recipe.  I just couldn’t resist.  😉  The right time happened to be today.  There is a lot of chopping involved.  Chopping veggies is one of my favorite tasks with being in the kitchen.  Believe it or not that totally relaxes me.   Chopping versus Medicare, let me think…Chopping!!  Here is that recipe;

Crunchy Cabbage Salad

may 001

1 head napa cabbage (You could use any type of cabbage you want)
2 carrots, peeled and julienned (or just cut into small pieces)
1 cup snow peas, thinly sliced
1/4 cup fresh basil
1/4 cup fresh cilantro
1 avocado, diced
1/2 cup chopped cashews (you could roast, I did not do that this time.  I will next time though.  Roasting gives the nuts such a fuller flavor)
2 Tablespoons sesame seeds (if you don’t have sesame seeds that is okay too.  You could add an extra teaspoon sesame oil to your dressing)

Dressing

may 002

2 Tablespoons smooth peanut butter
2 Tablespoons rice vinegar
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1 teaspoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon honey (you could use brown sugar for a replacement)
1 teaspoon sriracha sauce (Martin2 – Of course, you can add more!!) 🙂
1 clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon grated ginger (If you don’t have ginger use 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of dried ginger)
2 Tablespoons water

Directions

1.  Combine all salad ingredients in large bowl.
2.  Whisk together dressing ingredients.  You can add more water if you want the dressing to be thinner.  2 Tablespoons was enough for me.  may 003 (Sorry, I forgot to take a pic before adding to salad.  I really wanted some cabbage salad!)
3.  Toss cabbage mixture with dressing.  If you want to top individual bowls with more herbs or chopped cashews, go for it! may 007

This salad will be made a few more times this summer.  The next time I make the dressing I will add an extra teaspoon of honey and a tablespoon of sriracha sauce.  We like spice in this house!  Enjoy this simple and delicious salad!

3 thoughts on “Crunchy Cabbage Salad

Leave a Reply

