Caribbean Jerk Burgers

I love spicy heat and so does everyone else in our family (Well, almost everyone!).  Eric had mentioned in recent conversations he would like a Caribbean hot sauce.  When I saw this recipe in my Food Network magazine, I thought this would be the perfect start to his request. Since the Martin’s were recently in New Orleans and brought back some spice I knew they had some Cajun Seasoning.  I pit stopped over there to grab this spice.   These burgers definitely had heat but were quite delicious.  Here goes!

Caribbean Jerk Burgers

may 017

Ingredients

may 009

 

Jerk Sauce

1/2 cup fresh lemon juice (2-3 lemons – I used 2 larger ones)
1/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup jarred jerk saucemay 001 (got this at Woodman’s)
2 Tablespoons Cajun Seasoning (Borrowed from Martin2.  I swear he has no taste buds.  This stuff was HOT!)
1-2 Tablespoons of crushed red pepper (I used 1 Tablespoon.  The Cajun Seasoning brought the heat to this sauce!)
1 small red bell pepper, finely chopped
1 large jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely chopped
3 cloves of garlic, minced

For the Veggies

2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 carrots, cut into 3 inch sticks
1 medium zucchini, cut into 3 inch sticks
1 small red bell pepper, cut into 3 inch stripsmay 011
Kosher salt

For the burgers
Canola oil for the grill (it was raining, I used my cast iron skillet.  Wish this Summer would get here!)
2 pounds ground beef
kosher and freshly ground pepper
4 hamburger buns

Directions

1.  Make the jerk sauce; Whisk the lemon juice, olive oil, jarred jerk sauce, Cajun seasoning and red pepper flakes in a bowl until combined.  Add red bell pepper, jalapeno and garlic, cover and refrigerate. (It is recommended to refrigerate over night.  I found this recipe at 11 in the morning.  It was in my fridge for a couple of hours and was perfectly fine.)
2.  Make the veggies;  Heat a large skillet over medium high heat and add the olive oil.  Add the carrots, zucchini and bell pepper, season with salt and saute, tossing occasionally, until slightly softened, about 5 minutes.  Add 1/4 cup of the prepared jerk sauce and cook until the veggies are glazed, 1-2 minutes.  may 014Remove from the heat and cover to keep warm.
3.  Make burgers;  I think you know how to make a hamburger.  However, I added a 1/4 cup of the sauce to the hamburger mix. We had a double whammy of spice.  You do not need to add the sauce to your burgers.  We like spice so it worked for us.  (I am weird and weigh the burgers before I form them.  I like to have a 6 ounce burger. Seems the right size for a typical bun!)
4.  Grill or fry burgers.  As I mentioned I used my cast iron skillet.  4-5 minutes each side.  While burgers are cooking, toast the buns. (I lightly buttered and toasted one side in a non stick skillet.)
5.  Serve the burgers on the buns, topped with the sauteed veggies.

You will have extra sauce left over.  You could use as a marinade for chicken or for other veggie mixes.  Mine is almost gone.  I ended up making more burgers.  Next time I make this I will have some Cajun Seasoning from Penzeys, my favorite spice store!

Enjoy!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Caribbean Jerk Burgers

Leave a Reply

