Bruschetta with a blast from the past – October 2012

05/25/2015;  Cleaning up my blog.  I saw this post.  Brought back some fun memories.  I LOVE Denver!!  Chasing Scott around Syracuse with Kathleen was tons of fun.  Borio’s is always a great place to be with my hubby.  Ending with Pizza Friday with my crew.  I have to make Bruschetta more often! I am a very lucky lady!!

We had a quiet Pizza Friday.  It has been a pretty crazy couple of weeks so I was good with the quiet.  I have been to Denver and Syracuse this month so it has been a whirlwind.  I still have to post about the fabulous time I had with Scott and Kathleen at Frasca’s in Boulder CO!  Kent and I drove to Syracuse NY last week.  We left Friday and came back on Monday.  So, we Kent and I had our “Pizza Friday” in Syracuse last week.  We went out to Red Lobster and had a very nice meal with awesome service.  Saturday we went to our favorite restaurant in Syracuse, Borio’s Restaurant.  As always, a fantastic meal.   When in Syracuse Kathleen, Tony, Becky (and mom briefly) along with me of course chased my brother Scott across town for the Empire Marathon.    FYI: Scott ran 26.2 miles in 3 hours 8 minutes.

The next thing going on; last Friday Martin had his first Art Gallery event in Milwaukee.   I wish I could have been there but Kent and I were driving to Syracuse so that was not possible.  It was great to see my parents, Kent’s parents, Tony, Becky, Scott and Kathleen.  Enough of that, onto Pizza Friday.

This week I made the typical pizzas; sausage, BBQ Chicken, and a veggie pizza.   I recently started making my own pizza sauce.  I am sure you thought I did that before but I was using Del Fratelli Pizza Sauce.   I discovered it is much better to make your own.  For appetizers we had Spinach and Artichoke Dip (next time less mozzarella, if any at all) with blue corn chips and multi-grain chips.  I also made Bruschetta with freshly baked bread.

Pizza Sauce (SIMPLE!!!)  Update; 5/25/2015 – Rachel likes the can better.  (I think she is sick of me saying this – but she does!)

28 oz can Crushed Tomatoes (I use 6-in-1 Tomatoes. You can use whatever brand you want)
1 teaspoon dried Basil
1 teaspoon dried Oregano
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon sea salt (1/4 teaspoon table salt)
1/4 teaspoon pepper

That is all there is to it.  Mix it up and you have a “simple and delicious” pizza sauce!

The Bruschetta was requested by Martin.  I tried this recipe and we thought it was great.  Give it a try;

Bruschetta

How to pronounce Bruschetta  🙂

Ingredients

4 Roma Tomatoes
1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
1/4 cup grated Parmesan Cheese ( I uses Pecorina Romano)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tablespoon Balsamic Vinegar (LOVE this wonderful condiment)
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 Loaf french baquette or bake your own bread (recipe is here)

Mix all ingredients together.  Slice the bread in 1/4 inch slices and bake at 350 degrees until well toasted, about 5-10 minutes.  You can rub garlic onto the top of each slice of toast.  Spoon the Bruschetta on top of each slice and serve.  Very Simple and Delicious!! As always, Pizza Fridays are awesome.  The tradition of having our family together means more to me than anything in this entire world.  And that’s the truth!!

4 thoughts on “Bruschetta with a blast from the past – October 2012

  1. Coast to coast, baby! I love it.

    Yes, I too thought that you were probably already making your own sauce, since you’re like that…..
    and now you are!

    I’ve been using L.E. Roselli’s for years (guess I thought there was some sort of inside secret to making your own) but if it’s as easy as this, I’m going to give it a try.

    p.s. I don’t use any mozarella in my artichoke dip. Parmesean and Montrey Jack only (well, there is the cream cheese, along with the sour cream and mayo……definately NOT low calorie!).

Leave a Reply

