Guacamole Pizza

October 18, 2011 was the last time we made this pizza.  It is the New Hampshire pizza from 50 States 50 Pizzas.  (As you can see from my 2011 posting to this updated one I have improved on my recipe postings!) For our Friday gatherings I have been asking everyone to check out all the pizzas we have done.  I want them to let me know which one(s) they would like to revisit.  This Friday our blast from the past was the “Spicy Guacamole” pizza.  I can’t believe October 2011 was when I first started this blog. This was one of our first pizzas that we tried.  It was delicious then and it was delicious today.  We really need to make it more than every 3 1/2 years!!

Guacamole Pizza

June 032

Ingredients

For the Guacamole
3 avocados
1 lime
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
1 clove garlic, minced

For the pizza toppings
1/2 small red onion, sliced
1 small roma tomato, seeded and diced
Cheese (You could use one cheese or 4 different cheeses.  This time I used; Provolone, Pepper Jack, Colby/Monterey Jack and Mozzarella.  You use about 1/3 cup of each one if you are going to use 4.  Depends on the weight of your dough. I used a 12 ounce dough size for this pizza.)
SRIRACHA Sauce (You must use hot sauce.  Use your favorite.  We use Sriracha.)June 006
1 tablespoon chopped cilantro (we did not use the cilantro either time.  I would suggest adding the cilantro AFTER you bake the pizza.)

 

Directions

1.  Make the guacamole – In a medium bowl place the scooped avocado pulp and lime juice, toss to coat.  (This will prevent the avocado from turning brown AND gives a nice flavor).  Add the spices and mash.  I use a fork.  (I don’t use the food processor because it gets too smooth for our taste.)
2.  Top pizza with cheese (as I mentioned above we did use 4 different kinds), diced tomatoes and sliced red onion.
3.  I put the guacamole in a ziploc bag.  Cut one of the corners and put on the pizza in a checkerboard manner. (well, kind of!)June 031
4.  Kent topped with the Sriracha sauce. He squirted it on in a circular motion starting from the middle and working out to the edges.
5.  Baked at 475 degrees for 12-14 minutes.

We really enjoyed this pizza.  I tend to like the pizzas with no meat.  This has just the right spice.  Hope you give it a try and enjoy.  It is also great warmed up for breakfast!!  😉June 037

 

Leave a Reply

