Chocolate Bundt Cake with Fruit Glaze

Blast from the past.  Looking at pics on my computer.  Found this bundt cake I made for Martin’s birthday in 2012.  I updated the photo and thought I would re-post.  This cake was very moist and chocolatey.  I have to make this again soon!!  Here is the 2012 posting;

1/8/2012

Today was Martin’s birthday.  His cake request was a Chocolate Bundt cake with a Fruit Glaze.  When he was younger he lived with his grandparents in Sofia, Bulgaria.  He used to enjoy having this dessert with his Grandfather.  He misses him very much.  This cake reminded him of those special times.

I have never attempted a Bundt Cake before. I am not much of a cake or pie person.  The Chocolate Bundt cake recipe I used was from Williams Sonoma’s website.

Chocolate Bundt Cake with Fruit Glaze

pizza friday 112

Ingredients

For the cake:

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tsp. baking powder
3/4 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
16 Tbs. (2 sticks) unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups sour cream
6 oz. bittersweet chocolate, melted and cooled slightly

Directions:

1.  Have all the ingredients at room temperature.
2.  Position a rack in the center of an oven and preheat to 325°F. Grease and flour a decorative 10-cup Bundt pan.
3.  To make the cake,  sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt; repeat until well blended. Set aside. (I did not sift.)
4.  In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the flat beater, beat the butter on medium speed until smooth and creamy, 30 to 45 seconds. Reduce the speed to low and gradually add the granulated sugar, beating until blended. Increase the speed to medium-high and continue beating, occasionally scraping down the sides of the bowl, until the mixture is light and fluffy, 3 to 5 minutes. Add the eggs a little at a time, beating each addition until incorporated before adding more, until the mixture is thick and creamy, 1 to 2 minutes; stop mixer occasionally and scrape down the sides of the bowl. Beat in the vanilla.
5.  Reduce the speed to low and fold in the flour mixture in three additions, alternating with the sour cream and beginning and ending with the flour, until just blended and no lumps of flour remain. Then gently fold in the chocolate.
6.  Pour the batter into the prepared pan, spreading the batter so the sides are about 1 inch higher than the center. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean, about 1 hour. Transfer to a wire rack and cool the cake upright in the pan for 10 minutes.

7.  Meanwhile, make the glaze:

The Fruit Glaze I kind of whipped up but it was quite tasty.

2 1/2 cups chopped strawberries
1 kiwi, chopped (I cut it to avoid the seeds)
1/2 orange (I used a mandarin orange, I ate the other half)
1/3 cup sugar
1 Tablespoon lemon juice
1 Tablespoon cornstarch

Place the fruit and all other ingredients in a pan.  Cook slowly over low heat for about 5-10 minutes until thickened. Set aside to cool.

8.  Set the rack over a sheet of waxed paper, invert the pan onto the rack and lift off the pan. Generously brush the warm cake with the glaze. Let the cake cool to room temperature, then dust with confectioners’ sugar just before serving. Top slices with a dollop of whipped cream.

Enjoy!  Simple and DELICIOUS!

 

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Bundt Cake with Fruit Glaze

  1. I love the story of eating this with his grandparents. That alone makes me want to try it 🙂

    I’ve never made a bundt cake either, nor am I a big cake person, but I love the ingredients in this, so I’m gonna try it. I love the last picture, it’s mouthwatering. Way to make me bake!! 🙂

  2. Happy (belated) Birthday, Martin ❤

    This is the second (chocolate) bundt cake recipe I've seen this week and me without a bundt pan! Something else to add to my (Amazon) wish list, which is already 3 pages long (2+ of which are kitchen items!)

    Love your fruit glaze recipe. It sounds delicious, even better than the one in (Martha's) Everyday Food this month! Her's was just confectioners' sugar and pure'ed fruit.

    • I got that bundt pan the day before his birthday. Bed, Bath and Beyond with 20% off. It was only $14. It is a Wilton and worked great. I am going to try a coffee cake recipe soon. I will post it when I do. Good, bad or indifferent. 🙂

Leave a Reply

