Grown Up Grilled Cheese

When you were younger I bet your favorite grilled cheese sandwich was with Velveeta or American Cheese.  Right??  Well, the other night I got home late after grocery shopping after work.  I was craving a grilled cheese sandwich.  Believe it or not, I was going to make one with the yellow square cheese.  Then I remembered I had some fresh herbs (basil growing on my window sill!) and some Gruyere cheese.  This is what I ended up making.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

July 006

Ingredients

1 1/2 ounces Gruyere cheese, shredded
1 Tablespoon fresh herbs, chopped (I used basil, mint and rosemary)
1 Tablespoon Tuscan Herb Olive Oil (or plain olive oil)
Salt and pepper
2 pieces of bread (what kind you would enjoy)

Directions

1.  Brush one side of each piece of bread with olive oil.
2.  Place one piece of bread olive oil side down in frying pan over medium high heat.
3.  Add cheese, top with herbs, shake of salt and pepper, top with other piece of bread, olive oil side up.
4.  Fry each side until golden brown.

Takes less than 15 minutes from start to finish.  Simple and very Delicious!!

Leave a Reply

