Sweet and Sour Coleslaw

Summer is coleslaw time.  Here is a coleslaw recipe that is not creamy and I like it.  Originally made this for Jenni.  She is a friend from work.  She loves Festival Foods coleslaw.  Tried to duplicate it for her.  Now I make it often for me!  Made it this weekend with red cabbage.  No onions as Kent is not a fan. If you desire, add onions!  Takes no time at all.  Here is my recipe;

Sweet and Sour Coleslaw

July 020

1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup distilled white vinegar
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar (you could also just do 1/2 cup of one or the other.  I combined the two.)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 medium cabbage, shredded (I have used green and red cabbage, both delicious)
1 cup red or green bell pepper (I have done it with both.  I think I like the green pepper better.  I will be making it again soon.)
2 carrots, shredded
1 to 1 1/2 teaspoon celery seed
1 teaspoon ground mustard
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Directions

1.  Whisk sugar, vinegar and oil in large bowl.
2.  Add remaining ingredients and toss to combine.
3.  Cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours, tossing occasionally.

Simple and Delicious! Enjoy!!

2 thoughts on “Sweet and Sour Coleslaw

  1. German Coleslaw!
    Or as my gram would say “cabbage salad”
    Looks good, but not sure I could give up my Marzetti’s 😉

Leave a Reply

