Random Thoughts – How to Stay Young

I saw this in my internet travels. When I was in Syracuse in July  my mom was in rehab for a fractured pelvis.  I would visit dad at their assisted living apartment.  (For some reason I can’t call that their home.  They left their home 6 years ago.)  Needless to say I saw a stack of papers in on her table and noticed one was a story Eric wrote long ago.  I knew in those papers there were probably articles she cherished.   Amongst the papers was #10.   However, as I read through these ways to “Stay Young” there are many more that mom has reminded me about over the years. Like #2, 4, 5 and 6 and all the rest.  So, enjoy the take a deep breath and enjoy the read.  I know my mom would.  August 044

“How to Stay Young”
(Author; unknown)

1. Throw out non-essential numbers. This includes age, weight and height. Let the doctor worry about them. That is why you pay him/her. (Well, I am not sure about this one but I will ignore the age part.)

 2. Keep only cheerful friends. The grouches pull you down. (This is so true.  Get that negativity out of your life.  Life is way too short to deal with it and it definitely brings you down.)

3. Keep learning. Learn more about the computer, crafts, gardening, whatever. Never let the brain idle. ” An idle mind is the devil’s workshop.” And the devil’s name is Alzheimer’s. (Since my dad has Alzheimer’s I think about this often.  My cooking hobby keeps me busy.  I am always doing something.  If you know me you know I am not idle…EVER.)August 017 66 years together this November!

4. Enjoy the simple things. (Need I say more.)

5. Laugh often, long and loud. Laugh until you gasp for breath. (One person who can make me laugh totally out of control is my brother Scott.  I just don’t see him enough.  When I do, watch out!)

6. The tears happen. Endure, grieve, and move on. The only person who is with us our entire life, is ourselves. Be ALIVE while you are alive. (Believe in yourself and nothing can stop you.)

7. Surround yourself with what you love, whether it’s family, pets, keepsakes, music, plants, hobbies, whatever. Your home is your refuge. (Your home is so important.  We are so fortunate to have that, aren’t we?)

8. Cherish your health: If it is good, preserve it. If it is unstable, improve it. If it is beyond what you can improve, get help. (Just take care of yourself, it is not that hard!)

9. Don’t take guilt trips. Take a trip to the mall, to the next county, to a foreign country, but NOT to where the guilt is. (I don’t know about this one.  My mom gave me lots of guilt trips to travel.  I try it with my kids every once in a while.  They just go to the mall :D)

10. Tell the people you love that you love them, at every opportunity. And always remember: Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away. (You can never tell them enough, can you?)

Take that deep breath, again!  Ciao!!

3 thoughts on “Random Thoughts – How to Stay Young

Leave a Reply

