Cinnamon Buns – Simple and Delicious

I make these buns a few times a year.  I got the recipe from Cooks Country magazine.  I first posted this recipe in 2012, then again in 2013.  I made these last week and brought them into work.  The ladies loved them.  I thought it would be nice to post the recipe again and move it up on my feed for my coworkers (and others) to bake these Simple and Delicious buns!

Cinnamon Buns with Buttermilk Icing

September 014I

Ingredients

Cinnamon Sugar Filling

3/4 cup dark brown sugar (I used light, that was all I had)
1/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon butter, melted

Directions
Combine sugars, cinnamon, cloves and salt in small bowl. Add melted butter and stir with fork until mixture resembles wet sand, set aside.

Biscuit Dough

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 Tablespoons sugar
1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cup buttermilk
6 Tablespoons butter, melted

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Brush 9 inch nonstick square or circular cake pan with 1 Tablespoon butter.

For the Biscuit Dough
1.  Whisk flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together in large bowl.
2.  Whisk buttermilk and 2 Tablespoons melted butter together in small bowl.
3.  Add liquid to dry ingredients and stir with wooden spoon until liquid is absorbed.
4.  Transfer dough to lightly floured counter and knead until smooth.

Next, pat the dough with hands into a 12 by 9 inch rectangle.  Brush dough with 2 Tablespoons melted butter.  Sprinkle evenly with filling, leaving 1/2 inch border around edges of dough. Press filling into dough.  Loosen dough from counter.
5.  Starting at long side, roll dough, pressing lightly, into a tight log.  Pinch seam to seal.
6.  Roll log seam side down and cut into 8 equal pieces.
7.  Place 1 roll in center of prepared pan and place remaining rolls around perimeter of pan.  Brush with remaining 2 Tablespoons of butter.
8.  Bake until edges are golden brown, 23-25 minutes.  seafood pizza 004 Use spatula to loosen buns from pan and place on wire rack to cool.  After 5 minutes of cooling, start icing!

Icing

2 Tablespoons cream cheese, softened
2 Tablespoons buttermilk
1 cup confectioners sugar

While buns cool, line rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper, set rack with buns over sheet.  Whisk cream cheese and buttermilk together in a non metal bowl until thick and smooth (mixture will look like cottage cheese at first-and it really does).  Sift confectioners sugar over (sometimes I sift, sometimes I don’t); whisk until smooth glaze forms, about 30 seconds.  Spoon glaze evenly over buns and serve immediately.

This may seem like it takes forever but it really doesn’t and these buns are AWESOME!!

NOTE:  I ended up making 2 batches Thursday night.  One for us and one for work.  I prepared them the night before and placed in the refrigerator overnight.  I took a pan out in the morning for work and when I got home from work I baked the other pan for our Breakfast Friday.  When you take out the overnight pan, let it set on counter to get to room temperature (about 45 minutes) and then bake as instructed. I made the icing while they were baking.

Another Simple and Delicious adventure in my kitchen.  ENJOY!!

One thought on “Cinnamon Buns – Simple and Delicious

  1. You, my friend are a MUCH better and MORE awesome person than, I. Never have I ever even entertained the idea of tackling cinnamon buns. They look devine!

Leave a Reply

