Mongolian Beef – Crock Pot Dish

I saw this recipe on a food blog, The Recipe Critic.  I generally do not use my crock pot unless it is a weekend.  Cooking a bunch of food in a pot on weekday from 8am to 6pm just does not work for me.  The end result is usually way overcooked and not very edible.  I tried this recipe today, which happens to be a Saturday.  It was not overcooked and definitely very edible!!

Mogolian Beef (In case you want to know where the dish originates I linked it to Wikipedia)

September 028

Ingredients

1 1/2 pounds Flank Steak
1/4 cups cornstarch
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
2 Garlic Cloves, minced
3/4 cup Soy Sauce
3/4 cup Water (I used Beef Broth)
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 cup grated carrot
green onions (you don’t need to use these)

Directions

  1.  Cut flank steak into thin strips.  Put meat strips in a ziplock bag and add cornstarch.  Shake the bag to coat the meat pieces. Set aside.
  2. Add all other ingredients into crock pot and whisk together.
  3. Add meat to above ingredients and stir until all mixed together.
  4. Cook on high 2-3 hours or low 4-5 hours.  In my crock pot it was done in 3 1/2 hours on low.
  5. Serve over rice and if you like green onions add some of those too.  September 021(Next time I will be adding some chili peppers for a little heat.  I enjoy some heat in my dishes!)

That was it.  Could that be any simpler?  Enjoy!!

One thought on “Mongolian Beef – Crock Pot Dish

Leave a Reply

