Mekitsi (Bulgarian Fried Dough)

I make Mekitsa quite often.  I originally posted this recipe in 2011.   I have noticed I get quite a few hits for this recipe.  I pulled it up today and realized that my original draft was difficult to understand.  I am hoping my revisions will make it easier to follow my recipe and enjoy the end result. Martin enjoys Mekitsa stuffed with feta cheese.  He is the one who always asks for these so I make them to his preference.  However, if you sprinkle with confectioners sugar or cinnamon and sugar they are quite delicious too.  Martin is from Sofia, Bulgaria. He moved to Green Bay when he was 11.  I try to make some of his favorite foods that he enjoyed when he lived there with his grandparents. Food can bring back the best memories, wouldn’t you agree??  I know when my house smells like garlic it brings back many holidays spent at my grandparents in Syracuse NY.  You would enter their home into the kitchen.  You would immediately be hit with the aroma of that anticipated delicious meal.  Great memories!!

Mekitsa

december 025

Ingredients

1 yeast packet or 2 1/4 teaspoon yeast
1/8 cup of warm water
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup yogurt
3 cups all purpose flour
1 Tablespoon oil (I use Sunflower oil if I have it.  That is an oil that is use frequently in Bulgarian foods.  You can always use canola oil)
1 Tablespoon white vinegar
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
Peanut Oil for frying (you can use canola oil also.  Peanut oil has a nice flavor but is also a great oil to use for high heat.)

Directions

1.  Start the yeast in the warm water and set in a warm place for 10 minutes.
2.  In a separate bowl add yogurt and baking soda, stir together (this will bubble) and set aside.

If using food processor:

1.  Place 3 cups of flour in your food processor bowl.
2.  Add the rest of the ingredients and mix together until a ball forms.  It takes about 30 seconds to 1 minute.  Remove from food processor.  Make into a ball.
3.  Place dough in lightly oiled bowl.  Let rise 60 minutes.  Ready for frying!!

If you want to mix by hand:

1  Place flour in a bowl. Make a well in center of the flour and add the yogurt, yeast mixture, oil, vinegar, sugar and salt.  Using a wooden spoon, mix well to form a soft dough.
2. Turn out onto a clean, unfloured surface and lightly knead for about 10 minutes.  Put in a glass bowl and let rise for 1 hour.
3.  They are ready to fry or transfer to plastic bag and refrigerate for 1/2 day or overnight.  If you refrigerate and make later, take out of the fridge about 30 minutes before you are going to fry.  That will get the dough to room temperature.

Let’s fry them up:

1. Heat peanut (or vegetable) oil.
2. Cut off a golf ball size piece of dough and with moist hands pull the dough into a flat disk about 3-4 inches in diameter. (The shape can be irregular, no need for a perfect circle).
3.  Fry in oil being sure to turn the dough when the first side is brown.  When both sides are brown, remove from oil and place on a paper towel.  For a sweet treat, when cool sprinkle with cinnamon & sugar or powdered sugar.

****OR****

4.  For a savory treat, I most always  stuff with feta cheese.  To do this you make the disk, put crumbled feta cheese in the middle, december 013december 014fold over and fry in peanut oil.  december 017Get one side brown, the flip over and brown other side.

5.  Place on paper towel to drain. december 018 Watch it when you eat these as the cheese can be very hot in the middle.

Let them cool a little bit before taking that first bite!  Sweet or Savory, these are a delicious treat!

 


7 thoughts on “Mekitsi (Bulgarian Fried Dough)

  1. This is something I probably did not need to know about! Looks and sounds delicious/decadant. I’ve never had sheep’s milk feta but now am determined to find some. I love feta and have used and enjoyed many different varieties. My current favorites are Belle Chevre, which is handmade in Elkmont, AL (of all places) and ILE de France brand. Bought a new one just this week, but haven’t tried it yet; Westfield Farm “wasabi”. So, as you can see……I’m slightly obsessed and now have a new avenue to travel.

    Thanks for sharing something new and exotic!

  2. Jill, this is a fantastic, FANTASTIC snack. contrary to what you’d think, it’s immensely light, and filling, due to the way that cheese cooks, so the flavor is full and quick to satiate hunger. 🙂

    Give them a shot, they’re completely worth it!! (I say so while enjoying some at the moment!)

  3. Martin, since I know you would NEVER steer me wrong (or else Mom/Dawn will be instructed to kick your ass, LOL). I’m going to give these a try! They’ll have to wait until after Thanksgiving though, as I’m too old, fat and feeble to undertake it beforehand! 😀

  4. Hi!

    Thank you for the recipe I will make this for my son and husband tomorrow. It will be a surprise for them…we all love mekitsi!
    I was just wondering what is the vinegar for? My husband is Bulgarian and my mother-in-law was here visiting us my son and I would request for it mekitsi almost everyday. I don’t recall that she put some vinegar but she mentioned that different parts of Bulgaria have different ways of making it.

    Wish me luck!

    • Yoyi77 thank you for checking out the Mekitsi recipe. I would say the vinegar would add a mild acidic flavor and compliment the yogurt. Possibly a sourdough or buttermilk tang kind of flavor. Hope that helps! It is a real easy recipe and quite tasty. 🙂

  5. Thanks for the recipe, my hubby is from the Valley of The Roses. I looked up some recipes and this one is the closest to his baba’s. I made these, some with feta and some without, as a treat for when he finished shoveling. These are awesome! They remind me of funnel cakes and if I had to name them I would call them air donuts. Yum 🙂

    • Thank you Melanie! I am so glad you enjoyed the recipe. We all really enjoy them too. Martin especially loves with the feta. Maybe for Easter you should try the Kozunak Bread. I think your hubby might enjoy that too. It was a challenging recipe for me at first. However, is an incredibly delicious bread. It takes time but well worth it! Appreciate you checking out my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

