Tomato Soup – Simple and Delicious

I was listening to one of my favorite podcasts, The Splendid Table, this week.  She was interviewing Tom Douglas, a chef from Seattle.  While she was interviewing him he was making one of his favorite recipes; Tomato Soup.  That gave me the idea to make tomato soup and grilled cheese for dinner tonight.  I went to my favorite store, Costco, to grab some artisan bread.  I picked up Rosemary Parmesan along with some Provolone cheese.  I had all the ingredients at home for the tomato soup.  This was a truly simple and delicious dinner.  All done under an hour. What an incredibly flavorful tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwich!

Tomato Soup

october 045

Ingredients

1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
3 garlic cloves, smashed with the side of a knife and peeled
5 cups canned whole tomatoes in juice (or 2-28 ounce cans)
1 cup water (I used beef broth)
2/3 cup heavy cream
2 teaspoons kosher salt, plus more as needed
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, plus more as needed (I did 1/2 teaspoon)
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 teaspoon celery seed (I did not add this ingredient)
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano or
1/2 teaspoon finely chopped fresh oregano
1 tablespoon sugar

Instructions

1. Heat the butter and olive oil in a large saucepan and saute the onion and garlic until the onion is translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the tomatoes, water, cream, salt, red pepper flakes, celery seed, oregano, and sugar. Bring to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer for 15 minutes.october 041

2. After 15 minutes, use your immersion blender to puree the tomatoes in the soup.october 042  Then bring to a simmer for another 5 minutes.  If you don’t have an immersion blender then you need to remove from the heat and puree in batches in the container of a blender. Return the soup to the pot and reheat to a simmer, seasoning to taste with more salt and pepper.

3.  Serve the soup with a salad and/or your favorite sandwich.  I chose grilled cheese tonight.

Grilled cheese and tomato soup remind me of some lunches I had when I was little.  Campbell’s Tomato Soup and grilled cheese with American cheese.  This is a grown up version and just as simple and delicious.  Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

