Russian Salad – Simple and Delicious

During the holiday season Martin requests Russian Salad.  Every Thanksgiving and Christmas he requests this salad on the table.  Each year I get better and better at chopping pea sized potatoes, carrot and pickles. The smaller you chop, the better it is.

Russian Salad

november 005

Ingredients

5 medium sized potatoes, diced (I usually use Russet)
2 medium sized carrots, diced
4 dill pickles, diced
5 eggs, hardboiled, diced
1 cup peas (I use frozen)
1 cup ham, diced
3 green onions, chopped
1 cup mayonnaise
salt and pepper (I use 1-1 1/2 teaspoons salt, 1/2-1 teaspoon pepper)

Directions

  1.  Dice the potatoes and carrots to peas size.  Put in sauce pan. Cover with water and parboil.
  2. Dice/chop the pickles, eggs, ham and green onions.  Dice as small as you can.  Pea size is good, but you could chop the pickles even smaller. (Sometimes I am a great dicer, sometimes not so much!)
  3. Drain the potatoes and carrots.  Put in large bowl.
  4. Add rest of ingredients to bowl and mix well.  Be sure you taste it. You may need to add more mayo or seasonings to your taste
  5. Place in refrigerator and serve after the salad sets for at least 2 hours.  I generally make the night before.

The chopping can take time.  I find it a great stress reliever.  Yeah, that sounds kind of crazy but it works for me.  Don’t knock it until you try it.  ALSO, I try to chop everything so when the potatoes and carrots are done parboiling I can put it all together.  Enjoy this simple and delicious salad!

Leave a Reply

