Carrot Bundt Cake – Simple and Delicious

Kent’s birthday is here again.  He wanted a carrot cake this year but as a bundt cake.  After some researching I found out the difference between a layer cake and a bundt cake is the leavener.  If you increase the leavening ingredients you will be able to bake in a bundt cake pan and the cake will rise properly. So,  I increased the leavening ingredients that I use in my regular carrot cake.  It turned out great.  I took a sneaky taste before we serve it tomorrow.  I couldn’t resist.  I cut a piece out, took a tiny taste and a photo (of course) then put it back together.  No one will ever know!! 😉  Here is this simple and very delicious recipe;

Carrot Bundt Cake

December 015

Ingredients

2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
2 cups grated carrots (I use my box grater or food processor, whichever I am in the mood to do)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup well drained crushed pineapple
1 cup shredded coconut
1/2 cup chopped nuts

Directions

1.  Combine dry ingredients
2.  Add eggs, oil, carrots, vanilla and beat until combined
3.  Mix in pineapple, coconuts and nuts
4.  Pour into greased and floured Bundt cake pan
5.  Bake in 350 degree oven for 40 minutes
6.  Remove from oven and let set for 10 minutes.  Release from pan.

I use my stand up mixer for mixing this cake. If you want to do this by hand go for it.

While your cake is baking make the glaze;

Cream Cheese Glaze

8 ounces Philadelphia Cream Cheese (softened but cool)
8 Tablespoons butter (softened but cool)
2 cups confectioners sugar (I sift to avoid lumps)
2-3 Tablespoons half and half (or milk)

Mix all ingredients in stand up mixer.  I start on low speed to blend together.  I increase to medium and mix to a creamy texture.

After the cake cools for 15-20 minutes pour glaze on top of cake. I ended up warming the glaze in the microwave for 20 seconds.  That allowed me to pour on top of the cake with ease.   Use a fork to blend down the sides.  (You could put nuts on top.  I forgot to do that this time.)

I hope you enjoy this cake.  Give it a try.  It takes no time at all.  I love bundt cakes!   Happy Birthday Kent!!  🙂

 

One thought on “Carrot Bundt Cake – Simple and Delicious

Leave a Reply

