Lemon Bundt Cake – Simple and Delicious

I am on a bundt cake roll this Holiday Season.  I was going to bake my Italian lemon cookies tonight but I am too lazy.  Why not a lemon bundt cake?

Lemon Bundt Cake

december 022

Ingredients

1 cup unsalted butter, softened
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons lemon extract
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk (I used 3/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice)
1 Tablespoon grated lemon zest

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray and flour your bundt pan
2.  In a mixing bowl cream butter and sugar. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the vanilla and lemon extracts.  (I use my stand up mixer.)
3.  Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt in a separate bowl. Add to creamed mixture alternating with milk.  Stir in lemon zest.
4.  Pour batter into prepared bundt pan.  Place in oven and bake for 50-60 minutes.
5.  Remove from oven.  Cool for 10 minutes on cooling rack.  Invert onto a plate.  Cool 10 minutes longer and drizzle with glaze.  (I put parchmant paper under the cake before drizzling with glaze.  After I poured the glaze over the cake I removed the wax paper.  No mess and that works for me!)

Glaze:

Ingredients
2 cups Confectioners Sugar
2-3 Tablespoons, juice of lemon
1 Tablespoon sour cream
1/4 teaspoon lemon extract

Place all ingredients in medium bowl and whisk.  I always sift the confectioners sugar.  I don’t like lumps in my glaze and that seems the best way to prevent that.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

