Nut Horns – Not so Simple but Delicious

Kent mentioned he always enjoyed the Nut Horn cookies his mom made during the holidays.  I sent a text to Lisa and she was able to send me a pic of the recipe.December 001  I also spoke with his mom to see if she could explain how she made them too.  I was a little thrown off by the Seven Up. She also warned me that the dough was very sticky and you have to refrigerate overnight and keep it refrigerated while making the cookies.

This was my first attempt.  These cookies are a work in progress.  Next time I make them it should be much easier.  They are very delicious but not so simple.  I was glad I could make them for Kent.  I think only one of them looked like he remembered but at least he and the rest of the crew enjoyed how delicious they were.  Hey, looks aren’t everything you know!!

Nut Horns

December 002

Ingredients

Cookie batter (you need to make the night before)

1 cup butter
4 egg yolks (set aside the whites)
2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup Seven Up (Yes, the soda)

Nut filling

1 1/2 cups ground walnuts
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup sugar
1-2 Tablespoons milk

Directions

  1.  Preheat oven 375 degrees.  Line cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Mix together the cookie ingredients.  I used my stand up mixer.
  3. Put cookie dough in refrigerator overnight.
  4. You can mix together the nut filling ingredients the day you are going to fill the cookies.  It takes not time at all to mix together.  I ground the walnuts in my food processor but you can buy them that way too.
  5. Next day you will take 1 inch balls of dough and with rolling pin roll between plastic wrap.  I sprayed each piece of plastic wrap with Pam.  This batter is very sticky to work with.
  6. Kent’s mom cut into a diamond shape, put 1 teaspoon filling in the middle, rolled into crescent shape.  Pinch the dough to hold the cookie together. Do not pinch the ends.  Place the pinched portion on the bottom of cookie sheet.If you don’t do this the cookie may not stay a crescent and will open up. Also, you don’t have to cut into diamond, you can roll as is.  When I rolled out the ball, I tried to keep it more of an oval versus a circle.
  7. Dip half cookie in egg white and then in sugar.  You can use colored sugar.  I did not.
  8. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until golden brown.

Enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

