Pitka – Village Style

For Christmas this year Martin requested I make Pitka the way his Grandma used to make it.   (All along, that is what I thought I was doing.)  He calls it “village style”. He had a lengthy conversation with his grandma and she explained the recipe.  I made it the way she told me and it was good but a little chewy. (I should have left in the oven a bit longer. Darn!!)

I ended up making another Pitka on Saturday.  I played around with the ingredients a bit. This one turned out tasty too.  Very similar to soda bread.

I am posting both of the recipes I did because we enjoyed both breads.   By the way, this takes no time at all.  The Pitka I made in prior years took a long time but they were delicious just the same.  I will make my third attempt New Years Eve.  This one will be closer to what Olga told Martin.  Third time is a charm! 😉

Pitka One

December 006

Ingredients

8 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 egg
1 egg yolk (set aside the egg white to brush top of Pitka before baking)
3 cups yogurt
2 Tablespoons sunflower oil or vegetable oil

Directions

  1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour baking pan.  I used my cast iron skillet for my first attempt.  That was a good choice.
  2. In a large bowl add dry ingredients.  Whisk together and make a well by pushing the flour mixture to sides of bowl.
  3. Add eggs, egg yolk, oil and yogurt in center of bowl.  Mix with hands.  You can add more yogurt until combined.  (I had to put this in my stand up mixer to combine.)
  4. After mixed together form a round, flat bread.  (approx 9″ round, 2-3″ height)  Place in prepared baking pan.  Brush top with egg whites.
  5. Bake for 45-60 minutes (that would be longer than I did!!)
  6. Take out of oven.  While warm, wrap in a towel.  When cooled place in plastic bag to store.

Simple and Delicious!

Pitka Two

December 007

Ingredients

4 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup yogurt
1/4 cup buttermilk

Directions

  1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour 9″ round cake pan or whatever you want to use.  I could have used my cast iron skillet but wanted to try a different pan
  2. In a large bowl add dry ingredients.  Whisk together and make a well by pushing the flour mixture to sides of bowl.
  3. Add yogurt and buttermilk in center of bowl. (You could just use yogurt.  I liked the buttermilk addition.)  Mix with hands. (I was able to mix by hand with this recipe)  You can add more yogurt or buttermilk to combine.  (I did not need to add anymore.)
  4. After mixed together form a round, flat bread.  (approx 9″ round, 2-3″ height) Place in prepared baking pan.
  5. Bake 30-45 minutes
  6. Take out of oven.  While warm, wrap in towel. When cooled place in plastic bag to store.

When making Pitka for Christmas Eve the Bulgarian tradition is you put a coin and positive notes (“good health”, “happiness”, etc.) in the Pitka.  I cleaned off a quarter and wrapped that in foil.  I put notes on parchment paper and folded and placed in the Pitka.

We enjoyed both breads.  However, Martin missed the egg white brushed on top of Pitka 2.  We did end up eating the entire Pitka 2.  Like I previously mentioned Pitka 1 was not baked all the way through.  Too chewy.  I will post number 3 after New Year’s.

Wishing us all a peaceful 2016.  My New Year’s wish; Let there be peace on this earth please!  Let us all break bread together!!

Leave a Reply

