Gyro Pizza – Simple and Delicious

My new way to get pizza ideas is the check menu’s from pizza places.  Eric enjoys Sgambati’s Pizza.  I text him the menu to see if there was any one in particular he recommended for our Pizza Friday.  He suggested Cheese Lover’s, BBQ Chicken and Gyro.  I ended up making the Gyro and Cheese Lovers (without the feta).  (How do you like my fancy pizza cutter?  Gotta love my job!)  Here is how I whipped up these Simple and Delicious pizzas!!

Gyro Pizza

January 004

Ingredients

1 # chicken thighs (lamb, pork, beef would work too.  It is up to you!)
1/3 cup olive oil
1 teaspoon oregano ( 2 teaspoons Chubritsa-Bulgarian Savory herb)
1 teaspoon basil
1 teaspoon paprika
2-3 cloves minced garlic
2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 lemon

Directions

1.  In a large bowl or food safe bag, add the above ingredients with 1 pound chicken thighs.  (I cut into strips) Marinate at least 4 hours or overnight if possible.  (Don’t forget to make the tzatziki. This is best if sets overnight too.)
2.  After you allow to marinate, heat frying pan at high heat. I don’t add oil,the oil from the marinate is enough.  Drop the chicken pieces into the pan and leave untouched for 1 minute. (Do not overcrowd the frying pan.  Overcrowd and you will steam the chicken.  Not overcrowd and the chicken browns fabulously!)
3.  Turn the chicken pieces and continue to fry for 4-5 minutes. Fry until browned.   (I have grilled the chicken on a skewer also.)  The chicken tastes great grilled and fried.  So pick your way and go from there!
4.  Chicken is ready for the gyro or gyro pizza

You need about 4 -5 ounces of the marinated cooked chicken for the pizza.  This evening we had the makings for gyros too.

Here is how I topped the pizza;

I did not use pizza sauce for this pizza.  Here is what we used:

2 Tablespoons olive oil with 1 clove minced garlic.  Mix together.
1 small red onion, chopped
1 medium tomato, diced
Mozzarella Cheese
Feta (Next time I will do half with feta and half without.  I forgot the feta last night.)
Tzatziki Sauce

I brushed the top of pizza with the olive oil/garlic mix.  Added chopped onion, diced tomato and mozzarella cheese (you could add feta too), then the marinated cooked chicken.  Baked at 475 degrees for 12 minutes.

When we took out some of the crew topped with tzatziki sauce, some did not.  Kent or I did not get a piece as the vultures fell upon this pizza.  I am making one for us for dinner tonight.  (shhhh…don’t let them know)  😉

Enjoy!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

