Green Chili -Denver Local Fav

Super Bowl Sunday.  We put together a menu that offered delights from Denver and a little bit of the south (not sure Panther country) along with some Southwest/Midwestern flair. Scott and Kathleen live in Denver so I had a lot of help with that part of my menu.  Kathleen shared a Green Chili recipe she had from a Chili Cook Off she attended.  We all enjoyed this spicy dish and look forward to making it again!

Green Chili

february 014

Ingredients

3 Tablespoons Oil (I used canola)
2 pounds pork butt or shoulder, cut into 1/2 cubes
1 medium onion (I used a red onion)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup flour
2 cups tomatoes, peeled and diced (you could use a can of diced if that is all you have.  I used 4 medium tomatoes.  I ended up blanching so I could peel the skin easier.)
**14 ounces roasted peppers OR 2 7 ounce cans of green chilies
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1 cup chicken broth (you could add another cup of broth.  I thought 1 cup was enough.)

Directions

  1.  In a large saucepan, heat oil over medium heat.
  2. Add pork and saute until browned.  (I had to do in batches.  You want to brown the meat not steam it.  If you overcrowd your pan, the meat steams.)
  3. Stir in onion and garlic.  Add flour and stir until all is blended together.
  4. Add tomatoes, green chilies, jalapeno, salt, pepper and sugar.  Stir until blended.
  5. Add chicken broth.  Cover, reduce heat and simmer about 2 hours or until pork is tender.

**NOTE:  I had 2 Poblano, 2 Anaheim and 2 Jalapeno.  I roasted all the peppers, whole in the oven at 500 degrees for 15 minutes.  Took out of oven, placed in paper bag for 5 minutes.  Removed from bag, peeled skin, diced into small pieces.  I had 10 ounces of roasted peppers.  I ended up throwing in a 4 ounce can of green chilies.

This is Simple and Delicious.  ENJOY!

 

 

Leave a Reply

