Olive Salad

I whipped up some olive salad for the weekend.  I love it plain, as an addition of flavor in my green salad, condiment for any kind of sandwich, crackers, pizza and anything else you want with a fabulous punch of flavor. Especially for the  Muffaletta.  A Muffaletta is a sandwich with olive salad, salami, ham,  and provolone.  For a pizza, check out the  Pizzaletta or if you just want a salad, here is my simple and delicious recipe;

Olive Salad

march 031

Ingredients

1/2 cup each of green and black olives, chopped
1 Tablespoon capers
1/3 cup roasted red pepper, diced (I used a jar this time.  You can roast your own peppers if you like.  Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t.)
1/2 cup Giardiniera, chopped
2-3 pepperoncini, chopped
1/2 teaspoon basil (dried)
1 teaspoon oregano (dried)
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1 Tablespoon Balsamic vinegar
1 Tablespoon red wine vinegar
2 Tablespoons olive oil
Pepper to taste (I only use pepper. The olives & capers are salty enough)

Combine all ingredients together and place in refrigerator for 4 hours or even better, overnight.  Ciao!!

2 thoughts on “Olive Salad

  1. This sounds absolutely fabulous! I’m going to add some chopped onions to mine and start looking for a bread recipe to accomodate the building of the Muffaletta to go with your veggie soup recipe!

Leave a Reply

