Pork and Cabbage Potstickers

Saturday I attempted to go through a stack of Cook’s Illustrated and Cook’s Country magazines.  Sadly, I have only gotten through halfway of one magazine.  I kept finding recipes I wanted to make and it got me distracted from my task of getting rid of these magazines.  This was one of the recipes I found and decided to try it for our dinner on Sunday.  I made veggie stir fry to go with it.  I also made Indian Tea Biscuits and Mekitsa.  Once I get started I can’t control myself!!

Pork and Cabbage Potstickers

IMG_4398

Ingredients

1/2 head napa cabbage, cored and chopped fine (6 cups)
3/4 teaspoon salt
12 ounces ground pork
4 scallions, minced
1 large egg, lightly beaten
4 teaspoons soy sauce
1 1/2 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
1 garlic clove, minced
1/8 teaspoon pepper

Dumplings

24 round gyoza wrappers (I found them at Woodman’s)
4 teaspoons vegetable oil
1 cup water

Dipping Sauce

1/4 cup soy sauce
2 Tablespoons rice vinegar
2 Tablespoons mirin
2 Tablespoons water
1 teaspoon chili oil (optional) – did not use it this time.  Kent did not want heat today 😦
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
1 scallion, minced (I did not do this time.  I was lazy!)

Directions

1.  Toss cabbage with salt in colander set over bowl or in sink and let stand until cabbage begins to wilt, about 20 minutes.  Press cabbage gently with rubber spatula to squeeze out any excess moisture. (I just picked up and squeezed with my hand.  Quite a bit of water dripped out.)  Transfer to medium bowl.
2.  Add pork, scallions, egg, soy sauce, ginger, garlic and pepper.  Mix thoroughly to combine.
3.  Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until mixture is cold.  About 30 minutes or overnight if you like.
4.  Ready to fill those dumplings?!  Working with 4 wrappers at a time (keep remaining wrappers covered with moistened paper towel), place wrappers flat on counter.  Spoon about 1-2 teaspoons of filling in middle of wrapper.  Using a pastry brush or your finger moisten the edges of the wrapper.  Fold each wrapper in half; starting with the center and working toward the outside edges, pinch edges together firmly to seal, pressing out any air pockets.
5.  Transfer dumplings to baking sheet and repeat with remaining wrappers and filling.  You will get at least 24 wrappers.
6.  Time to fry/steam your masterpieces!  Line large plate with double layer of paper towels.  Brush 2 teaspoons of oil over bottom of 12 inch nonstick skillet and arrange half of the dumplings in the skillet, flat side down.  Place skillet over medium high heat and cook dumplings, without moving them, until golden brown on bottom, about 5 minutes.  (I set the timer for 5 minutes and that was enough time.)
7.  Reduce heat to low, add 1/2 cup water, and cover immediately.  Continue to cook until most of water is absorbed and wrappers are slightly translucent, about 10 minutes. (I set timer for 10 minutes and that was enough time, again!)
8.  Uncover skillet, increase heat to medium high and continue to cook, without stirring, until dumpling bottoms are well  browned and crisp, 3-4 minutes more.
9.  Slide dumplings onto paper towel lined place, browned side facing down, and let drain briefly.
10.  Transfer dumplings to platter and serve with dipping sauce.
11.  Let skillet cool until warm, then wipe out with paper towels and repeat starting at step 6 with remaining dumplings, oil and water.

These are not as hard as this seems.  Honest.  They are simple and very delicious. By the way,  I beat Kent at Scrabble.  🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

