Chicken Salad

I roasted a chicken this weekend.  I thought it would be nice to make a chicken salad.  Kent and I really enjoy this for a quick meal.  Kent likes it on a roll, I like it in a bowl!!  Also, I happen to enjoy the chives if I have them on hand.  Kent is not a fan.  If you don’t want to roast a chicken, go to the store and pick up a rotisserie chicken.  Simple and Delicious!

Chicken Salad

IMG_4513

4 cups of chicken, chopped into bite size pieces
4 hard boiled eggs, chopped
2 celery stalks, diced
1 carrot, diced
1 Tablespoon capers
10 – black olives, sliced
1 Tablespoon chives, chopped (sometimes I use them and sometimes I don’t)
2/3 cup mayonnaise (You could use Miracle Whip or olive oil.  I like mayo!)
1 Tablespoon Dijon mustard (You can use whatever mustard you like.  I think the yellow works best for this.  That’s just my opinion, for what it is worth)
Freshly ground pepper
Salt to your taste (capers and olives give enough saltiness for us)

Directions

1.  Add all ingredients in medium sized bowl
2.  Mix until combined.  Refrigerate.
3.  Serve on a roll, lettuce leaf or in a bowl!

How simple is that?  Great for a quick and easy lunch or dinner. Enjoy!!

One thought on “Chicken Salad

  1. Classic!
    I like mine with red onion too! I also throw some sliced red grapes, chopped celery and water chestnuts in with the mayo. No mustard or carrots for this girl.
    Love it best in a bowl.

Leave a Reply

