Mom’s Meatloaf – Simple and Delicious

I was listening to one of my favorite podcasts, Special Sauce with Ed Levine.  The host was interviewing Frank Bruni.  He used to be a New York Times Food Critic. He was talking about a cookbook he co-wrote with Jennifer Steinhauer, “A Meatloaf in Every Oven”.  They were talking about their favorite meatloaf recipes. They spoke about their mom’s meatloaf recipe which got me thinking about my mom’s recipe.

When I spoke with my mom during the week I told her about this interview and mentioned her meatloaf.  I had a pretty good memory of what she put in her recipe.  It was fun talking about it and that got us into other recipes too.  She used to work second shift at Chrysler on the assembly line.  Prior to leaving for work she always made sure we had a good meal for dinner, every single night.  Meatloaf was easy for her to prepare before work. When I came home (or other siblings) we would put the dinner in the oven, set that table and have it ready for when Dad got home from work. We always had sat at the dinner table. I enjoyed the weekend when she wasn’t working so she was a part of our food and conversation.

I am sure everyone remembers their mom’s recipe or has one of their own they love. I am going to share her recipe.  If you would like to share your mom’s or your own recipe, please do.

Mom’s Meatloaf

img_5025

Ingredients

2 pounds ground beef (she mentioned that sometimes she did 1# ground beef, 1/2 pound ground pork, 1/2 pound ground veal)
1 small onion, diced fine
1 small green pepper, diced fine
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup Italian Seasoned Bread Crumbs
2 eggs
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

Directions

  1.  Preheat oven 375 degrees
  2. Mix all of the above together and form into loaf
  3. Place in loaf pan (or you can do free form.  My mom always used a loaf pan, so I did too)
  4. Place in oven and bake for 45-60 minutes

That’s it.  She also mentioned to serve with ketchup.  Oh, and it makes really good sandwiches if there is any left over.

By the way,  Frank Bruni’s was a Cheesy Chorizo Loaf.  He made it sound so good I bought the cookbook. img_5062 I guess we will be having some meatloaves in 2017.

Everyone loves meatloaf, right?

 

2 thoughts on “Mom’s Meatloaf – Simple and Delicious

  1. Ahhhhhhhh……………
    The memories of good ole meatloaf. My how things have changed in our own kitchens! Mom always served big baked potatoes with ours. Two birds one stone. Both went into the oven together and came out at the same time. Add a green salad or English peas. Dad always got the leftovers for his lunch the next day. Good, good memories ♡

Leave a Reply

