Brussels Sprouts Salad

With Spring in the air, at least it should be, salads are on my mind.  I want to start making different salads.  I found this recipe and thought it looked interesting so I wanted to give it a try.  It was very simple and just as delicious. Let me know what you think!

Brussels Sprouts Salad

April 5 2014 008

1 pound brussels sprouts, cut off the ends, give them a good cleaning and slice thin
2-3 carrots, shredded
1/2 cup dried cranberries (you could use any dried fruit you enjoy, raisins, craisins…you get what I mean)
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1 small apple, diced (a pear would be delicious too)

Dressing
3 lemons
2 Tablespoons oil (I used Avocado oil, you can use whatever you want)
2 Tablespoons honey
Salt to taste

Directions

April 5 2014 006

1.  Combine all the salad ingredients in a bowl.
2.  In a small bowl whisk all the dressing ingredients together.
3.  Pour dressing over the salad and toss well.
4.  Put the salad in the fridge for 30 minutes or so. That will give the flavors time to marinate.

Kent had the salad right away.  He thought it was great.  I waited 30 minutes and I liked it better after sitting in the fridge.  Very refreshing salad.  Looking forward to making many more new salads this year.Enjoy!!

Leave a comment